Diomedea – The Best Anime Studio Of All Time?

Best anime studio is completely subjective and hard to define. Theirs many different ways to judge each individual but it depends most on what you value in anime. Which genre do they make that you like the most? What are their visuals and animation like? How many shows have they made?

There is never a right answer to this question however I will be judging Diomedea using a resource called graph.anime.plus. It allows you to compare all of the studios that you like to see which one you like the most and apparently I like Diomedea the best, followed by shaft. This is done using average score across all of their shows to see which ones you like the most. Whilst diomedea has made some of my favourite shows, is it really my favourite overall?

I don’t believe any studio is perfect so I’ll allow shows that I don’t like and will mostly be comparing shows that I’ve seen already. This is going to be similar to one of my “what I watched in” posts however I’ll be talking about the studio instead.

Fuuka

Not going to lie, this is a pretty bad start for me. Whilst I liked the shows visual that was pretty much it. Starting off with a strange fan service scene isn’t a great idea to keep me interested. On top of this I didn’t like the future episodes full of misunderstanding each other and romance that didn’t feel real. I didn’t actually rate this anime as I always had intentions to continue but I just couldn’t be bothered.

Gi(a)rish Number

This show was a weird one for me. I enjoyed it but not a whole lot, I felt like everything happened too slowly and I got bored easily. A good anime often makes me perceive time as faster however these episodes felt way longer than they should be. This isn’t inherently bad though, I just felt like the message and humour of the show was very predictable and therefore interesting.

It was fun watching Chitouse just floating by with the help of her brother but I couldn’t relate a whole lot or find it consistently funny.

Handa-Kun

I really like this show, the comedy is brilliant. At the time of watching I became a real fan of comedy shows especially ones that followed the trope of “Guy with the thing” such as Sakamoto or Tanaka Kun. I never saw barakamon so I didn’t have that angry fan boy rage whilst watching.

Tropes are things that tend to get on my nerves but for the longest time my philosophy has been that “If It’s funny I don’t care” which this series follows.  I love the light-hearted nature with funny misunderstandings and consistent comedic moments.

Mayoiga

This is quite a controversial show to like but I thought it was pretty good. I’m not one of the people who found it ironically funny but it was just interesting. I liked to theorise about what was happening and found the ending quite amusing. Watching these characters fight and argue was entertaining as well just because of whom I was rooting for. It reminded me of reading lord of the flies however this show wasn’t boring.

Ore no Nounai Sentakushi ga, Gakuen Love Comedy wo Zenryoku de Jama Shiteiru

This is ironically a long title for a very short anime. The main character is living in a light novel scenario and it’s as if reality is the light novel. This isn’t the most interesting premise on its own though. Each of the possible choices that the main character can have has terrible side effects, e.g run around a classroom looking like a pig. It’s interesting to see the strangely minor consequences of this in a very fun light hearted comedy.

Squid Girl

For most of 2016 both seasons were my all-time favourite anime. I’m not joking, I loved it that much. I really like the way something new was introduced each episode and then explored quickly with strange comedic scenes. Each episode has three scenarios (which is an episode format that I haven’t seen replicated) and they are all great.

None of the characters are really fleshed out or deep because they don’t need to be. They introduce a unique, brilliant dynamic which was predictable in a fun way. What I mean by this is that the jokes are predictable yet executed in a much better way than expected. For example if a banana peal was on the floor you know what the joke is, but it’s made so much funnier with the characters.

It easily sends me into a childish, simple mind and makes me enjoy each minute effortlessly. I feel like a child watching the show and I do believe that it’s made for children. The fact that is seems bad and feels like it should be bad is part of the reason why I enjoyed it.

Discovering this show though the randomise button on crunchy roll, I went in with no expectations. I just thought the name sounded funny. What I found was a brilliant show that I could sit and relax too.

Probably the only reason why this show is rated so high is that I gave both seasons 10’s as well as a high rating on its OVA. This of course would raise the average in an incorrect way.

Shows that I would watch from Diomedea

  • Aho girl – it looks pretty funny.
  • Astarotte No Omocha! – I’d go into this with extremely low expectations but still with the hope of getting something out of it.
  • Binan Kokou Chikyuu Bouei-bu LOVE! – The very concept of this show baffles me. It’s a magical girl show but with adult males. If they can make this funny I’d watch it, especially if it had short episodes.
  • Dai Mahou Tongue – “She won’t hesitate to whip out her magic stick”, it just looks like a funny whacky story. It’s only four episodes so it wouldn’t hurt to try it out.
  • Gingitsune – I’m just interested to try and find a slice of life show that I really like. I’m not a fan of the genre however I feel like it could be funny.
  • Kodomo No Jikan – An 8 year old falls in love with her teacher. I’m not a fan of lolies however I’ve heard good things about this anime as it explores some interesting themes so I’d be sure to check it out.
  • Nogizaka Haruka No Himitsu – Low expectations going in but I think it could be funny.
  • Skull man – This was also made by bones but it’s so different from all of their other shows that I’d need to check it out .

 

So is Diomedea the best anime studio of all time? No, not really. They have some fun shows that I like but looking on MAL it definitely looks like I’ve watched most of their best shows already (or shows that I’d like) and they make a lot of trashy fan service harem anime. Too many of their shows have something along the lines of a male attending an all-female school so I don’t feel like their very consistent even if they do have some of my all-time favourite shows. Since this is the first studio I’ve ever talked about I haven’t gone through any comparison process. So I guess it’s the best studio I’ve written about.

If you liked or enjoyed this blog post be sure to tell me so I can talk about more different studios, I like the idea of analysing each of the 75 studios that I’ve seen and comparing them all. As diomedea was a pretty good studio in my opinion I will give this a rating that’s decent, yet improvable. At the end of each of these posts I will reveal a score board of all of the comparisons (Not for this one though as it was first or last).

I hate to give a rating to do this as it’s often the only thing people take away from these posts. But for the sake of comparing too other anime studios only I give diomedea a 7 out of 10.

(Kind of April Fools… But not really)

 

 

Leave a Reply

