What I Watched In April 2017! (Recommendations and Reviews for Anime and Manga)

Whenever a new anime season starts there’s always a lot to talk about with impressions and interpretations. As to not plague this post with all of the currently airing anime I will link to a YouTube vlog  of me giving my impressions of them! Now that that’s out of the way, let’s get into the shows!

ilovedthisthisissomebobobobobobobo_4a715d8255d9b1e64e0538d9415cb244

Bobobo-bo Bo-bobo (Watch the dub)

This show is often overlooked due to its perceived stupidity and craziness.  I think that people see the giant yellow afro, a red spikey orange and dumb comedy humour, saying that it’s not really for them. But that’s exactly why it is for them!
I love this show for its comedy, which is done brilliantly. It has the same feeling, pacing and attention span of a children’s cartoon whist simultaneously delivering hilarious jokes that most people can appreciate.  Weirdly enough part of my enjoyment of the show came from imagining a child watching it with me and having to explain the joke to them as they went, it was very weird but also pretty fun.

It does childish, silly humour far better than most shows in a way that just puts me in a great mood so that I can’t stop laughing! I highly recommend it if you like comedy.

Beelzebub

This show was the reason for why I could appreciate Bobobo so much. The jokes are very childish and formulaic in a bad way. There’s no real reason for why it’s not funny, it’s just not funny. I found it incredibly hard to connect with and I found the premise pretty boring and extremely unfair.

You’re not meant to feel sympathy for the guy at all but I do: he was unfairly dumped with a child who could kill him! As well as this, the baby is not endearing whatsoever; my dislike for him really makes this show fail in my opinion.

Berserk, Berserk, Berserk

If you’re a fan of Berserk you seriously need to follow this blog, I have 13 Berserk blog posts coming soon that you’ll probably appreciate. Needless to say I love Berserk and I even enjoyed Berserk 2016 despite all of its flaws.

I have so much to say about this and I don’t really want to spoil it so I’ll give my brief opinion of Berserk (this mostly applies to the manga). It is everything that you want from a dark fantasy action manga.

(Link to the first Berserk post here)

Non Non Biyori

Thanks to my enjoyment of Sakura quest I’ve been checking out slice of life anime so much more this month. I like the comedy and quiet nature that is prevalent in this anime and I enjoy watching the girls going about their daily lives in a fun and interesting way.

It’s not great by any means but it’s a fun nice slice of life show.

Natsume yujin cho

I found this boring in a bad way. Whilst Non Non Biyori could be considered slow and boring by the nature of the show; it depicts a slow life of life story. Natsume however feels very strange in comparison.

It feels like an action show set in a slice of life world. We get to watch the slow experiences of daily life but there are also demons at the same time. It’s a departure from the norm (even though it seems very similar to ghost stories) and I don’t really like it.

771269

Angel Beats

Often when I don’t have a lot to say about a particular show that I watched I cut it out. However in this instance (as it’s so popular for some reason) I feel the need to comment. The premise is not interesting to me and I felt like it was a whole boring waste of time. The first episode bored me so much that I couldn’t carry on watching. That’s all I really have to say about it – sorry if you were offended but I don’t really want to lie about my tastes just to make people happy.

3a08ffcba7d93fe8777aac3964428d80

Akatsuki no Yona

I didn’t expect to like this going in but I was actually pleasantly surprised.  The opening episodes were enjoyable and good looking; there wasn’t really any problem with them besides one thing. I never was able to see where it was going; I couldn’t watch it without thinking that it would eventually turn into a dull generic action show.

So when it did turn into a generic and dull action show I dropped it. The introduction of the anime was very good though and I enjoyed the opening episodes. I wouldn’t recommend it unless the idea of a calmish, interpersonal introduction intrigues you.

1396271375733

Serial Experiments Lain

I initially dropped this after episode one, the first episode was boring and uninteresting, so why wouldn’t I drop it? It’s just that I was fascinated by the ideas presented in the show, about being connected together in technology and the potential impacts of it. So I watched an episode one analysis and actually found it enjoyable and interesting.

So I approached episode two later with an analytical mind-set and found it seriously good. It’s a brilliant, trippy, artistic, arthouse anime that’s really worth a shot.  I recommend it if you use technology way too much, I’m considering writing a full post about this but I’m not really sure yet.

Prison School Manga

When I caught up to this I gave a sigh of relief. Many months ago I had caught up to this and they were in the middle of a massive fight that seemed to last forever. Thankfully, by the time I caught up the fight was over and I could live on in peace!

Prison school is a great, hilarious manga which is worth your attention if you’re a fan of the comedy genre.

Hoshi No Samidare

I hate how manga’s tends to go on and on forever so I love it when I find a good short one. So far, it’s an action show with much higher stakes than you at first realise. It has a save the world plotline but it’s far more interesting and not really generic in my opinion because it’s executed well.

The chemistry of the characters is fun and interesting; I’m looking forward to finishing it to see where it goes.

 

 

So which show/manga on this list gets my award for being the best thing I watched this month? I bet your thinking “Berserk!” but I don’t think the films or new anime’s are as good as Bobobo (I watched Berserk 1997 last month) so that wins the prize. I recommend Bobobo greatly, give it an open mind and I hope that you’ll enjoy it.

Winners Table for Best Anime I watched in a certain month

January 2017 – Kaiji

February 2017 – Mysterious Girlfriend X

March 2017 – B Gata H Kei (My fascination for Berserk didn’t start until April)

April 2017 – Bobobo-bo Bo-bobo (Dub)

What a strange list of favourites… I tend to have some weird opinions after enjoying shows that aren’t popular or well-reviewed. I tend to value comedy in the short term but serious things like Berserk in the long term, it’s how the system works).

2 thoughts on “What I Watched In April 2017! (Recommendations and Reviews for Anime and Manga)

Leave a Reply

