Berserk: Golden Age Arc III: The Advent

Something that I praised the first film a lot was how it managed to fit a lot of events in to one very short film. This third adaptation of the golden age arc from berserk was both long and didn’t fit a lot of events into it, making it boring in my opinion as everything was so slow.

If you don’t know the spoiler about the end of the golden age arc then you’re in a good position to choose the best way to experience the ending for you as you can consume the start of the anime, manga and films before you get to the end of each one to experience the ending with. Whichever one you like the most you should watch or read as the reveal will be the best in that medium for you. Also if you don’t want to be spoiled early skip the guardians of desire arc in the manga (chapters 3 to 8) as it spoils the finale of the golden age arc for the most part.

So if you haven’t seen it then you really want to go in unspoiled by me so stop reading now. Ok when the only thing to talk about or the first thing to come to mind is the finale or spoiler aspects of the film too me it doesn’t make me think of the film in a good way. It’s much like Gurren Lagann the only time when I hear people talking about it is the spoilers, every time someone mentions a spoiler I want to try and watch it but I don’t as I want to go in unspoiled. The only thing that people talk about in that show are the spoilers so it makes me think that everything else besides this isn’t really that good (I watched some of Gurren Lagann and I was right). It’s this kind of thing that makes the film pretty bad in my opinion. The dramatic reveal is the only real interesting thing and it’s pretty good but doesn’t last for as long.

The fact that this film is longer means that they slowed the pace of the Berserk films completely. As someone who’s already seen the Berserk anime and manga I know what will happen and what’s going to happen in the future. The slow pace in contrast to the previous parts made me bored easily as I knew what would happen anyway.

The world of demons with the behelit was something that I thought would be done well but for me it came across as cheap and bad looking, not threatening at all. The fact that the movies didn’t give us much time to become endeared too the characters it didn’t really feel as dramatic as it should have been.

Despite this I tend to be a massive film critic hating most of them so if you consider yourself a person who likes films and can sit through one easily and you like the world of Berserk then you will probably like this.

Leave a Reply

