Kimi Ga Nozomu Eien Episode 1 Review

Even with all of its romance and perceived seriousness I really didn’t like this episode. It felt too simple and I found that I couldn’t really care about the characters.

Much like my problem with sakurasou no no pet kanojo I found that this anime got to the melodrama and serious plot points without making me properly care about the characters or know them well. This left me with a disconnect that contributed to my lack of interest in the plot.

A boy gets together with a girl who’s had a crush on him for a very long time just for the heck of it but doesn’t seem to like her or want to go out with her. This consequently makes the girl sad. We see this, then we see it again, then the side characters see it, then the side characters tell the guy, then the guy fails again, then the girl tells the guy and he decides to change its mind and commit.

If you didn’t get what I was going for in the previous sentence I was saying that the plot was drawn out and melodramatic for just a simple misunderstanding that took over the whole episode.

There was still a lot to like about the episode as it’s very different in tone to most other generic romances but it simply wasn’t for me.

Thank you for reading this post from JEARETTAS Day 14! If you have any episode suggestions for me to review (and the date is 20th July or earlier) then please comment bellow!

Leave a Reply

