KINMOZA! Episode 1 Review

This anime was the first series that I’ve watched specifically to write about it and specifically because a reader asked me too. Due to this I made sure to go in unspoilt without knowing anything to make my review more interesting. I haven’t looked into this series any more than watching the first episode just so I can give my impressions before going to look them up to make sure, I’d be funnier.

Opening with a letterbox effect really didn’t impress me as I find it intrusive but going to England was something that I found interesting. I’m from England so it was interesting to see what Japan thought of our country and it was nice to see them paint it in a good light.

We are then introduced to the exchange student and see the two gradually form a good relationship together, forming a deep friendship by the end of the experience.  This ultimately leads to a very moving scene when they have to leave each other.

So I could tell that the episode would take us back to the present but since a fellow blogger had recommended it I thought that the future might have been far different in a funny way that completely ruined the emotional build-up of the start of the episode, but that wasn’t the case.

This episode would have gotten a ten out of ten if the change to the present brought a completely different tone to the series which ruined the innocence of the girls. I would have found it brilliantly funny if the characters were jaded and horrible and they had to meet again despite being completely different people.

This obviously wasn’t what happened; the girl from England came from Japan as a transfer student and then the episode ended.

It was a cute, heart-warming episode but I feel no motivation for continuing with the series, it felt like a nice short movie too me, the girls met and had a fun time with each other but then felt sad once they moved away. So the English girl learned Japanese and came to Japan to see her again, and they lived happily ever after, I’m guessing. It felt like a conclusion to an arc and I sort of want to leave it like that for now.

Thank you for reading this post from JEARETTAS Day 14! If you have any episode suggestions for me to review (and the date is 20th July or earlier) then please comment bellow!

Leave a Reply

