Elfen Lied episode 1 review

I never thought that Elfen Lied could be that good but after this episode I’m not so sure, it could turn out great or fail miserably based off of my response to the first three episodes that I’ve watched so far. It’s entertaining but I don’t really think the show has much quality.

We start with a super human naked girl breaking out of a scientific laboratory. I personally thought that this took too long as they had quite clearly established the fact that she was invincible and breaking out, before showing you the same thing again for the next four minutes. It’s a little redundant but the quietness and lack of identity of the figure walking made it feel mysterious and interesting so it carried me through this slow moment.

The most interesting part about this episode was the other characters finding Nyu and taking her into their house. It was interesting to see them try to make sense of what was going on and I also liked thinking about how Nyu might integrate into society and become normal through learning from human contact.

Then we are introduced to the team who has to find Nyu and kill her, these characters are extremely boring and I don’t like them.

Nyu then breaks something and runs away in fear, most likely in set up for her to encounter the soldiers who were there at the end of the previous episode.

So this episode was entertaining but not brilliant, I enjoyed it on the whole but there were a lot of signs that show that this anime could go downhill. But I was interested to see what would happen next so I carried on watching.

Thank you for reading this post from JEARETTAS Day 15! If you have any episode suggestions for me to review (and the date is 20th July or earlier) then please comment bellow!

Leave a Reply

