Barakamon episode 1 review

I’m one of the few who ended up watching this show after watching its prequel, I understood that it wasn’t liked by the majority of Barakamon fans and I can now see why. I really enjoyed Handa-kun for its insane situations and crazy main character but I can see how everything’s changed.

Handa is no longer the cool guy who gets misunderstood by people. Even from the way he stands and the characters look at him it’s easy to tell that he’s a completely different person just from how they draw him. He feels more real and more personable with clear flaws that I’m interested to see explored further.

I’d like to take Handa-kun as a spin off side story and Barakamon as the real deal with actual intrigue instead of just comedy value.

The art is seriously good, much better than I would have thought and it brings the world to life; even though we haven’t seen much I love its aesthetic and I’m interested to see what else is in the village of Barakamon, it feels really nice to watch without falling into boring slice of life.

But I’m getting ahead of myself here, let’s talk about what happened. Handa-kun does calligraphy but he’s become tired and formulaic in his art. When the museum owner criticises his artwork for this very reason, he punches him and gets sent to the village which I’ve been praising this whole time.

What I liked about this episode was how different the village was compared to what Handa’s used too and this added to the comedy my intrigue. We are also introduced to the new villagers and they’re mostly friendly (with only a few exceptions) and they help him move in.

The little kid was my least favourite aspect of the episode but it wasn’t really that bad, in a way the arc of Handa-kun’s likeness of the kid mirrored my own. We disliked the girl at the start for her obnoxiousness but eventually came round to liking her when she went out of her way to try and help him. It was a cool arc and it promises me that there’s plenty more good stuff to come in this series.

It ends nicely with the villagers helping him move in and a touching phone call which shows that Handa is already open to change, the completely messy symbol of the kanji “fun” shows that he’s already trying to advance his art in the future meaning that everything that previously happened wasn’t useless.

The juxtaposition of Handa’s first calligraphy attempt and his attempt after the credits really show his passion, ending the episode brilliantly. I don’t tend to like slice of life anime but this one looks like it’ll be really entertaining to watch for the future.

Thank you for reading this post from JEARETTAS Day 18! If you have any episode suggestions for me to review (and the date is 20th July or earlier) then please comment bellow!

One thought on “Barakamon episode 1 review

Leave a Reply

