Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni Episode 1 Review

After dropping Higurashi a long time ago I decided to check out this episode again to see if it was any good. My main problem with the series in the past was not really finding the mystery interesting (It’s just some dumb curse, right?), not really seeing the point and not really knowing what the right questions to ask were.

I can say that after re-watching this episode none of these are a concern to me because it’s now both interesting and fun to watch. When I first started JEARETTAS I thought that this might make a really entertaining criticism post, contrasting the comedic GTO posts that I made yesterday. But as I started writing notes and getting information down I became insanely interested in the story and events that took place.

With the help of the x2 speed button I was able to stay entertained and think about the story without drifting off. I think a lot of my previous dislike (which is now completely gone) was due to the large amount of time spent just talking and seeing the characters react. By increasing the speed of the video I was able to minimise on character reactions whilst reacting to the scenarios myself with a kind of amazed interest.

Blogging this series could be quite funny as it could lead to some interesting and embarrassing theory but I really don’t think I should do that. I remember thinking that Higurashi was the only anime that made sense to episode review (that I’m aware of) as theirs lots of mystery and ambiguity in the episodes which would be great to have explained. That way I don’t want anyone who’s looking for a proper explanation to find my post and get something that they didn’t want.

If the ending of Higurashi is interesting enough and I’m able to obtain the visual novel I will go back to explain every single episode as I think there’s a demand for it that many people fall into (I know I did and I apparently hate episode reviews).

So this episode was brilliant with a great amount of horror and slice of life perfectly mixed together. My leading theory is that the behaviour of the characters and the actions that they perform in the slice of life part has a direct impact on the curse and outcomes of the short four episode arc. Keeping this theory in mind makes the slice of life aspect of the show a whole lot more interesting as well.

And there is a curse or some supernatural aspect in the show. People’s eyes don’t transform like that, it wouldn’t make sense.

If you wanted some kind of summary then go to the wiki, I’m not going to describe the full page of notes that I had, detailing all of the personal drama and events as it would be too long and the whole point of JEARETTAS in the first place was to make fun of short terrible episode summaries. (Doing great at that!)

Thank you for reading this post from JEARETTAS Day 21! If you have any episode suggestions for me to review then you are unfortunately too late. But don’t worry, you can search the JEARETTAS archive for something you might like anyway!

2 thoughts on “Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni Episode 1 Review

Leave a Reply

