Cleanliness Boy! Aoyama-kun Episode 1 Review

I don’t really know what the popular opinion of this show is but I’m going to be honest and say that I really didn’t like it. This doesn’t mean it was terrible; it did keep me occupied for twenty minutes which is more than I can say for other shows that I thought I’d episode review.

The best thing about this show is the visuals because it looks great. I really like how clearly defined and well coloured everything is; it reminded me a lot of Hunter X Hunter as far as the visuals went but I think the rest could have been a whole lot better.

This isn’t really the anime’s fault but I think football is the most boring thing ever. Oh yeah, you’re supposed to talk about the plot in these reviews! So it’s a football anime about a guy who’s obsessed with cleanliness, they show him playing a big football pitch at the start and scoring so I think this is a flash forward to show that the players are going to get more serious about their sport. Not much really happens, they establish that Aoyama is the best at football but cares about being clean more. They have a game against a really powerful opposition but they still end up wining because Aoyama gets dirty for once.

So on the topic of football being boring, it just is. I struggle to see how anybody could be a football fan for longer than a season, the games are long, boring and repetitive so they’re hard to watch – especially when your team doesn’t win and you have to sit around five angry friends who you want nothing to do with.

Normally the sport doesn’t matter in sports anime as long as it’s interesting. I never cared and I still don’t care about basketball but I really enjoyed Kuroko no basket because of the fact that they changed it to make it interesting.  I really don’t see how this could happen for this show, they don’t want to go all out insane like KNB but they’re also not playing up the friendship like in Haikyuu.

Can anyone really say that they like the main character of this series? He’s terrible. He comes across as a stuck up snob with no personality. It might later be revealed that he has OCD or something similar and cannot help his compulsive desire to clean things but right now he’s just a stuck up brat. It didn’t even matter that they tried to change the viewer’s perspective half way through because by then most people’s minds were already made.

I don’t really see this anime becoming anything better than a 6 due to its boring characters and sports, so I’m going to drop it. Sorry if you liked it but this show isn’t doing anything for me.

Thank you for reading this post from JEARETTAS Day 22! If you have any episode suggestions for me to review then you are unfortunately too late. But don’t worry, you can search the JEARETTAS archive for something you might like anyway!

One thought on “Cleanliness Boy! Aoyama-kun Episode 1 Review

Leave a Reply

