Mahoujin Guru Guru (2017) Episode 1 Review

The episode opens with a video game with the main hero character. It has an old game aesthetic which then changes to a more normal anime view, telling us that everything we’re seeing is basically not really happening even though we can see it.

This is a comedic, fantasy anime but I didn’t really like any of these aspects of the episode. The dramatic, over the top comedy really wasn’t for me as it felt forced and extreme. It was mostly playing on clichés or video game tropes for comedy but I couldn’t really appreciate it because it felt overused, dumb and childish in my opinion. I can’t really criticise comedy (because some people will find it funny) but I will say that it’s really not for me.

As for the fantasy, it feels like part of the standard typical video game with no real interesting aspects. Everything is something you’d expect to see in a video game without much difference. They may make jokes out of it but I really don’t like it at all.

We start with our hero going out on his journey by being forced into a catapult by his family and landing conveniently in his next spot. He then recruits a mage and then goes to the city, pulls the sword out of a hat, goes shopping and then beats a monster on his way to the next adventure.

I really didn’t enjoy this so I’m going to drop it but I can see other people enjoying this, especially if they’re a fan of the fantasy anime genre and would like to see it played out in a non-serious way. The unfortunate thing about this anime is that konsuba already exists and it’s far better at its comedy.

Thank you for reading this post from JEARETTAS Day 29! If you have any episode suggestions for me to review then you are unfortunately too late. But don’t worry; you can search the JEARETTAS archive for something you might like anyway!

One thought on “Mahoujin Guru Guru (2017) Episode 1 Review

Leave a Reply

