JEARETTAS is over, Thank god!

For the month of July 2017 I started a project called JEARETTAS, a project where I would have to release at least two anime episode reviews every day. I not only succeeded in this goal but I was also able to write a huge amount and sometimes release more than two posts a day. Not including the endings I wrote a total of 27,760 words for this project, making July by far my most prolific month.

I will list all of the posts here and then discuss the success and failings of the project.

Day 1

Yu Yu Hakusho Episode 36 Review!

Yu Yu Hakusho ep 37

Day 2

Yu Yu Hakusho Episode 38 Review

Yamishibai season 3 Episode 2 Review

Day 3 – Naruto Shippuden Day

Naruto Shippuden Episode 1 Review

Naruto Shippuden Episode 2 Review

Naruto Shippuden Episode 3 Review

On this day I made jokes about not understanding this anime because of not watching the original Naruto and not realising that the series carries on. I don’t know if anyone noticed.

Day 4

Yu yu Hakusho Episode 39 Review

Golden Boy Episode 2 Review

Day 5

Golden Boy Episode 3 Review

Golden Boy Episode 4 Review

Day 6

Golden Boy Episode 5 Review

Yu yu hakusho Episode 40 Review

Day 7

Golden Boy Episode 1 Review

Golden Boy Episode 6 Review

Day 8

Haikyuu Episode 14 Review

Yu Yu Hakusho Episode 41 Review

Day 9

Bobobo-bo Bo-bobo Episode 21 Review!

Junk Boy Review!

Junk Boy only has one episode so I thought I wouldn’t call it “Junk Boy Episode 1 Review”.

Day 10

Colorful Episode 1 Review

DNA² Episode 1 Review

Day 11

DNA² Episode 2 Review, YEAH!

Hantsu X Trash eps 1-3 Review(/s) (full series)

Day 12 – Yugioh day

Yugioh Episode 1 Review

Yugioh Episode 2 Review

Yugioh Episode 3 Review

Day 13

Chuunibyou Episode 1 Review

Chuunibyou Episode 2 Review

Day 14

Kimi Ga Nozomu Eien Episode 1 Review

KINMOZA! Episode 1 Review

Day 15 – Elfen Lied Day

Elfen Lied episode 1 review

Elfen Lied Episode 2 Review

Elfen Lied Episode 3 Review

Day 16

Super Sonico the animation episode 1

Super Sonico the animation Episode 6 Review

Day 17

Yona of the dawn episode 12 Review

Chronexia And The Eight Seals Episode Review!

Day 18

Barakamon episode 1 review

The severing crime edge episode 1

Day 19

Magical Warfare episode 1 Review

Hunter X Hunter episode 1 review

Day 20 – GTO Day

GTO Episode 1 Review!

GTO Episode 2 Review!

GTO Episode 3 Review!

The joke about this day was that I reviewed the GTO drama instead of the anime. I don’t think anyone understood this but the GTO drama is pretty good so I felt like recommending it for a joke anyway. I’ve finished GTO drama and I really enjoyed it!

Day 21

Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni Episode 1 Review

Kakegurui Episode 1 Review

Day 22

Cleanliness Boy! Aoyama-kun Episode 1 Review

Koi To Uso, 30% of Episode 1 Review!

Day 23

Shirt No Naka wa Kedamono Deshita Episode 1

Miss Monochrome the animation Episode 1 Review

Day 24

Danchigai Episode 1 Review

Inugami-san to Nekoyama-san Episode 1

Day 25

AHO-GIRL Episode 1

The Other 70% of Koi To Uso Episode 1 Review!

Day 26

Tsurezure Children Episode 1 Review

Hajimete No Gal Episode 1 Review

Day 27

Hunter X Hunter 2011 Dub Episode 1 Review!

Made In Abyss Episode 1 “The City Of The Great Pit” Review!

Day 28 (Was too pushed for time to do a made in abyss day)

Made In Abyss Episode 2 Review!

Made In Abyss Episode 3 Review

Day 29

Mahoujin Guru Guru (2017) Episode 1 Review

Netsuzou Trap -NTR- Episode 1 Review

Day 30

Nora, Princess, and Stray Cat episode 1 Review

The Irresponsible Galaxy Tylor Episode 1

Day 31

Made In Abyss Episode 4 “The Edge Of The Abyss” Review

Love Rice Episode 1 Review

 

Successes

JEARETTAS or “July’ke episodic anime reviews even though they all suck!” was intended to test myself and make fun of episodic anime reviewers simultaneously. I would do this through writing brilliant, decent and meme posts to make fun of anime summarisers to show them what an episode review should be like. I made sure to always include my own opinion and rarely include a summarisation as I wanted to continuously review instead of summarise. I did this better in some than others.

People seemed to like this approach as I had many viewers coming back, including some readers who seemed to give every single post I wrote a like! The one user who’s done this doesn’t appear to have their own blog so I can assume that it wasn’t done for advertising purposes.

My viewership and following surprisingly increased considering the stigma against normal episode reviews. I’d expected to lose a lot of readers but they surprisingly stayed and I’m grateful since a radical change in content such as this would definitely make me unfollow.

I unfortunately believe that if I put the same effort into releasing my normal style of posts I would have done much better because I think people appreciate the normal style so much more. I might potentially do another test in the future where I do a similar thing except with the style of normal posts so that I can see the difference.

Something that I’ve noticed is that it might not be the episode reviews that get attention and instead the popular currently releasing ones/ old popular ones. It makes sense but it makes me sad that good content can be overlooked just because it’s not from a show that someone might have heard of.

Failures

I don’t like to give out my statistics so I will just say that the only post in my top ten performing posts in July was my Shirt No Naka wa Kedamono Deshita Episode 1 Review which was fairly disappointing since it wasn’t nearly as good as the others.

My views doubled but my posts per month quadrupled so I think I’ve not performed as well as I could have done. As well as this my followers didn’t increase but that’s to be expected since I didn’t really stick with reviewing the same series. At least my number of likes tripled but since I made 69 posts (and some people still don’t think this month was a joke) and one person liked every single one I don’t think I can brag about this too much.

I tried and failed to review certain anime’s like CLANNAD and ANOHANA but, like always, couldn’t finish it too a level I was happy with. I really hate these drama anime’s so It’s annoying to not be able to express my thoughts without coming across as more of an asshole than I already do!

I made anime episode reviews for a month.

 

So overall JEARETTAS was pretty “meh”, my stats improved massively but not enough for me to think that it was worth it. I won’t be doing another JEARETTAS in July next year but I might do something similar. I will now leave you with the entire JEARETTAS photo gallery. Enjoy!

1920x1080_493efdd0f41eee8

69 Posts, HA.

Leave a Reply

