I Don’t Tend To Re-watch Anything

Even if I really liked the show a lot I will rarely re-watch it. There are of course plenty of reasons to this, and of course reasons in the specific cases where I would overlook these reasons to re-watch it!

So why go back to re-watch something? The obvious reason is that you enjoy it, and want to see it again! So why don’t I want to do that.

To me a show often feels like when you buy something that is in mint condition with plastic around it, and once you take the wrapping off it can never return to how it was.

That’s often how I might feel while re-watching, it’s just not as special anymore now that I know what’s happened, especially when it’s fresh in my memory.

There is also an argument of “why re-watch when theirs so much more out there that could be better that you’ve never seen!” which I tend to follow as well. I can’t help but feel like I’m wasting my time slightly as I re-watch. Though I should never feel that way if I’m enjoying it.

So what about re-watching for other reasons? There are more reasons than just this!

The most appealing reason to go back and watch something is if you didn’t like it the first time, but think you might like it now.

Though it’s not quite an Asian drama, a version of this for me was when I re-watched a lot of Ghibli films.

Ghibli films were considered to be one of the best kinds of anime films out there, however when I watched them the first time I didn’t like a couple of them, or like six or seven of them, but it was great to re-watch them later and enjoy them.

A show that I still need to do that for is “grave of the fireflies” which I didn’t like the first time, but I know I’d enjoy if I were to watch it again.

That’s the kind of thing I’d re-watch. Great films in general too, I don’t feel like my time is wasted re-watching a good film I really enjoyed the first time, as it changes your perspective.

Then there are of course things you watched such a long time ago that you’re unsure if you remember them correctly, and you’re unsure if you like them, and you’re unsure if they were actually good. Those are some fun ones to revisit.

I remember this show that I watched as a kid, maybe when I was ten or something, and re-watching it to find that it still held up, in the same kind of way that adults can enjoy kids shows sometimes.

So there we go, thank you for reading day 19 of the 30 day Asian drama challenge! Today’s question was “Have you rewatched an Asian drama more than 3 times? if yes, which one” – and I suppose I’ve not really answered the question. The answer is no. Ok, see you guys tomorrow! So close to 2/3 of the way through, how’s the posts going so far?

11 thoughts on “I Don’t Tend To Re-watch Anything

  1. I don’t re-watch shows most of the time either. And I agree with some of your reasons to actually rewatch it.
    To be honest, there were so few Anime shows I rewatched that I know them by head lolol

    I rewatched some of the Ghibli movies because I wanted my boyfriend to watch it. I also rewatched Paprika to watch it with my best friend.

    Other than that I rewatched Digimon and Yu-Gi-Oh (first season), my favorite Animes when I was a kid and I just wanted to remember all the stuff xD

    Last, but not the least, the only show I rewatched (3 times actually) was Nana, my favorite Anime of all time! Look, I already know what is going to happen, I also know when things are going to get better, I know the story back and forward… But it gets me all the time and I end up crying every single time! I don’t know why though xD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ghibli films or films in general are always a good re-watch for me, I sometimes like to re-watch them as they’re short and generally are better in my opinion, at the very least, it’s normally fun to watch the much better than average animation and visuals.

      I do want to watch more Yu-Gi-Oh, I think it’s probably one of the much better kids shows out there. I only ever saw a bit of 5ds so might watch that instead. If it’s good obviously!

      I can rarely cry to anime like that. But the good thing about it is that when I do cry it makes it feel more special.

      Like

  2. I agree with all of those reasons. I only ever re-watch things when I’m showing it to someone, or when I have to write a detailed post about it (which doesn’t happen that often).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I totally get what you mean with re-watching stuff! The whole being in mint condition and never being able to get back to that is spot on. I tend to watch something and then move on but I do have a couple of series which I will re-watch from time to time. I enjoy re-watching something if I haven’t seen it in years and it brings back a feeling of nostalgia! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah it’s sometimes good to feel nostalgic, I know there are some series I will re-watch because I just liked them so much at the time, and would want to see if my opinions are still the same.

      Maybe one thing I didn’t say was that I re-watch things in different languages to learn the language, and that second and third re-watch is so bad because that wrapper has been pulled off so quickly! Maybe I lied about the whole post, but I don’t tend to like to re-watch anything – still works!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, definitely! I think its interesting to see if re-watching something still gives you that same feeling it did the first time around.

        I see what you mean with learning languages too. I think that is a really cool approach tbh and is something I hadn’t considered. Although, I can apply something similar with anime as sometimes I will watch something in Japanese and then later on in English to see how the two compare and see which I prefer!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yeah like I’ve not re-watched my favourite anime, so maybe it’s worth revisiting to see if I still have the same opinion.

          Ah yeah comparing dubs and subs could count as a re-watch as well. But I’d normally watch like ep 1 in sub 2 and dub and then choose or something.

          The only thing I seem to be finding out here is that I re-watch things way more than I thought I did!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment